KindleLeaf Falling Kingdoms – Morgan Rhodes

Falling Kingdoms – Morgan Rhodes

2019 Jun 30

In the three kingdoms of Mytica, magic has long been forgotten. And while hard-won peace has reigned for centuries, a deadly unrest now simmers below the surface.

As the rulers of each kingdom grapple for power, the lives of their subjects are brutally transformed… and four key players, royals and rebels alike, find their fates forever intertwined. Cleo, Jonas, Lucia, and Magnus are caught in a dizzying world of treacherous betrayals, shocking murders, secret alliances, and even unforeseen love.

The only outcome that’s certain is that kingdoms will fall. Who will emerge triumphant when all they know has collapsed?

It’s the eve of war… Choose your side.

Morgan Rhodes AKA Michelle Rowen was well known for her work under paranormal romance until her venture into YA Fantasy in 2012. Falling Kingdoms is the first novel in a series of six and covers the vast, in-depth land of Mytica. The story itself confronts the plaguing tension between the three Kingdoms in this land, each Kingdom having its own Main characters with their own storylines. This series has subtle comparisons to Game of Thrones, given the constant elements of betrayal, conspiracy and political intrigue. Rhodes also dabbles in elemental magic, which takes on more of a main focus as the novel progresses.

While the storyline initially may seem somewhat unoriginal, what with its battles, illicit romances and prophecies, Rhodes still manages to capture the reader’s attention with a complex web of character development and interrelationships. There’s a lot of grey area in this novel that makes you reevaluate the characters as they walk the fine line between right and wrong. It certainly makes for an interesting read and readers will find themselves yearning to find out what happens next. 

Rating: 3.8/5