Everything else.. SLTC Launches Sri Lanka’s First School of Music in a Non-State University

SLTC Launches Sri Lanka’s First School of Music in a Non-State University

2020 Jan 13

With a primary focus on fulfilling the national requirement of expanding the provision of quality higher educational opportunities that are on par with international universities, Sri Lanka Technological Campus (SLTC) launched its School of Music on 12th January 2020. The Bachelor of Music programme offered by SLTC’s newly launched School of Music becomes the first music degree offered by a non-state university. Renowned composer Nadeeka Guruge, one of Sri Lanka’s eminent personalities in the music industry, acts as the Head of School.

Voyage of Rhythm – the launch event of the programme which was conducted by Mr Nadeeka Guruge, was a night of mesmerising music with popular musicians such as Amarasiri Peiris, Keerthi Pasquel, Kushani Sandareka, Niranjala Sarojini, Gaminda Priyaviraj, Suneth Chithrananda and Kishani Jayasinghe, in attendance. Other dignitaries at the event included Honourable Minister Dr Bandula Gunawardhana, Honourable Member of Parliament Bimal Rathnayake, Former Secretary to the President Lalith Weerathunga and Rupawahini Director-General Ajith Naragala.

“Although the University of Visual and Performing Arts exists within the government system, the initiation of this institute is a brave step taken by Nadeeka Guruge and lecture panel towards presenting and empowering the students to pursue an experimental-friendly musical study programme” said Mr Gunawardhana. 

Adding to that, renowned Musician Keerthi Pasquel said “So far we’ve seen an education system that focuses on traditional degree programmes. However, today marks a day where children in Sri Lanka, who are passionate about music are given a great opportunity and different experience”. 

 “Behind this initiative lies many areas for research. It is definitely challenging, however, it is because of the guidance and support of SLTC Founder Ranjith Rubasinghe that we were able to come thus far.” Said Mr Guruge.

Showcasing timeless tracks such as Ashokamala (2006) from Mr Guruge’s stage drama Rathnawalli, Aga Pipi Mal (2004), Esraj Chathuskaya (2009), Karma Thanthri Chathushkaya (2010), Swarupa (2014) – the theme song of Darmasena Pathiraja’s last film, Amara Sama (2002) created by the students of the University of Ruhuna, My Broken Heart (2011) – theme song of the movie “The Night is Still Young”, Surathata (2013) and Awasan Kandaya (2013) a composition inspired by Vesture – Da – Sanne, the night was a journey of musical excellence.

Encouraging students to discover their creative abilities, the School of Music allows its students to explore many realms of music without restrictions. As such, is adamant on producing creatives that are diverse in their abilities and unique in their styles. 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here